Book Review: Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: Oathbringer
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Genre: Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, High Fantasy
Audience: Adult
Series/Stand Alone: Series, The Stormlight Archive #3, Cosmere
Format read: eBook
Publisher: Tor
Date read: 24 November 2020 (reread)
First published: 14 November 2017
Content Warning: addiction, death, violence, hunting, war, PTSD, depression, slavery,

Mini Review:
Continuing the epic journey that is the Stormlight Archive, the third full book in the series does not disappoint. Full of adventure, intrigue, wit, relationships, even more character growth, (not to mention Stormlight), this continues to be my absolute favorite series. Oathbringer’s order of Radiant is Bondsmith and focuses on Dalinar Kholin who is still trying to fulfill the seemingly straight forward command of, “Unite Them.” As with all the Stormlight Archive books Oathbringer is wonderfully complex and leaves me eager to continue the series. Truly an epic story in every sense of the word.

Full thoughts:
What is it that we look for in a book or a favorite series? Do we want it to just tell us a story and keep us entertained? Do we want it to make us think, or question that which we believed to be truth? Do we want it to make us cry tears of joy or sadness? As a voracious mood reader, I want all of those things from what I read, but often they do not come (or fit) together in one story. Although to be fair the Stormlight Archive books are more like 5 volumes in one book, and they pack a punch. A wonderful, complex and rewarding punch.

I want to be enriched in some way or another by what I read. Whether that means I’m taken out of my comfort zone, introduced to a new way of thinking, need to look up the definition of a word to glean it’s precise meaning, or pause to contemplate a deeper/double meaning behind the text, I am challenged in some form. Now I do not expect this from every single page of every book I read, but I do think including this is the mark of a really strong narrative which will hold up over time. Even better if I constantly discover new things with each read through.

“Storms, I’d hoped … I’d hoped you could tell me, give me an absolute right. For once, I’d like my moral code not to come with a list of exceptions at the end.”

Oathbringer, page 318

For me this is what the Stormlight Archive is. An enriching narrative that is at once entertaining and thought provoking. At times heartbreaking and joy inducing. Complex, yet completely accessible. The wide cast of characters and massive world building has me completely captivated. As the third installment in the series, you might think you would walk away from this book a little less in awe as the previous ones, but for me that was not the case the first time I read it nor with this reread. The story is stronger for the events that transpire and as in past books, more and more details start to connect while still presenting even more questions.

If you haven’t read the previous books in the series (The Way of Kings, Words of Radiance or Edgedancer), I recommend checking out my reviews! Also be warned the rest of this review will include some small spoilers for the previous books in the series.

Storyline wise, Words of Radiance ended on such a high note, it left me eager to charge ahead in the story. Thankfully, there were a LOT of pages in Oathbringer to charge through (1243 to be precise), and at time of writing this I still have Dawnshard and Rhythm of War to devour.

“Books?” Shallan said. “You?” “I don’t spend all my time hitting people with swords, Shallan,” Adolin said.

Oathbringer, page 151

At the end of Words of Radiance, we’ve learned a lot more about the Knights Radiant and some specifics. We’ve met or learned of persons from 7 of the 10 orders of Radiant: Windrunner, Lightweaver, Bondsmith, Truthwatcher, Elsecaller, Skybreaker, Edgedancer. As with all previous books the religious tensions are real and complex, especially in regard to the Radiants. What should people make of them? How do they fit with the Hearlds? Holy or the path to damnation?

“She didn’t know where he fit into the scheme of her religion. The Knights Radiant had been founded by the Heralds, but they were also traitors. So … he was either a divine being of myth or a cretin one step above a Voidbringer.”

Oathbringer, page 109

We’ve learned about Shardblades, and how they literally pale in comparison to the shards of the past. We know Honorblades can give someone Radiant abilities. We know a little bit about the Ghosts Blood as well as the Diagram which seems connected to the group that calls themselves patriots. Lastly, we know that this crazy high storm, the Everstorm, is blowing the wrong direction and there is rioting in Kholinar. Sounds like it is time for the end of the world, yet we know the story is not done as Oathbringer is only book 3 in the series planned to be 10 volumes.

United, new beginnings sing: “Defying truth, love. Truth defy!” Sing beginnings, new unity.”

Oathbringer, page 1235

Oathbringer follows the same structure and pattern as the previous books, which I find very pleasing:

  • The book is written in 5 parts with interludes in between.
  • The titles of the parts form the above ketek. I’ll let you read the Endnote of the book to see which character in the story composed this one.
  • The book title, Oathbringer, is the name of a book within the story which is quoted in the Epigraph of various parts of the book.

More and more characters have a moment in the spotlight (or point of view to be more specific). The main point of views (POV) continue to be from Dalinar Kholin, Shallan Davar, Kaladin Stormblessed and Adolin Kholin. Oathbringer is very much Dalinar’s book, being the book for the Bondsmiths order, but as always the story is shared between the main characters and the world of Roshar. We learn a LOT about Dalinar’s past that we did not know before. Some of these parts are a bit harder to read than other flash backs, but they are so well done and add so much depth to his journey.

“I think I almost had him anyway.” “Your definition of ‘almost’ is particularly ambitious, gemheart.”

Oathbringer, page 174

We also see a bit more from Jasnah Kholin, Bridge Four (specifically Sigzil, Numuhukumakiaki’aialunamor aka lunamor aka Rock, Teft, Moash, Skar, Rlain), Navani Kholin, Szeth, Taravangian, Venli and the Knights Radiant(not listed due to potential spoilers). Venli is our main Interlude POV this time, but Eshonai is the POV for the prologue. Taravangian is such an intriguing and complex character, on both his good and bad days.

“Is it not our duty, as kings, to ask questions that make the minds and souls of other men cringe?”

Oathbringer, page 290

Other POVs include Puuli, Ellista, Kaza, Ash, Mem, Sheler, Rysn, Ash, Yanagawn aka Gawk, Palona and Vyre. Many of these are making their first appearance but others we have seen before. While I don’t believe we’ve had a Spren POV yet, they are some of my favorite characters and we learn A LOT more about them this book! I also dare say chapter 13 is one of the most amusing chapters in the series to date.

So what are you waiting for, time to start Oathbringer!? For me it is time to start Dawnshard then onto Rhythm of War. Enjoy and do let me know if you have read or plan to read this series!

The Stormlight Archive – Reviewed:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.